Interim Presentation

Yesterday I rushed from the doctors back home as had left my research folder there straight back to uni to try and get back in time for my group session. It was a very close call but as it was my birthday they waited the couple minutes for me to arrive thankfully. Steph went first and really impressed everyone with her work and the progress she has made. I was rather nervous to go next but I didn’t have any problems in filling the five minutes of presenting and was pretty much perfectly timed which made me feel a bit more confident about my work and path so far.

The feedback I received was pretty positive from my peers, Helen and the International Greetings consultant. I feel I have come out of the discussion feeling more positive about where I am heading with my project. It was agreed that doing the wrap option was right for my designs and clientele. I am designing for Tom Smith focusing wreaths from christmas as my theme so one of the constructive pieces of advice I was given was to put more imagery of wreaths on my mood board. I also need to collect a lot more imagery of shops and shopping centres which are currently putting up their christmas decorations and products.

Another thing that was noted is that since I specified the deep plum and gold colours are my main ones I need to use them a lot more throughout my work and experimentation. I need to do a lot more drawing of anything really connected to christmas. Then I can combine and manipulate the best outcomes from my sketch book but I currently have a relatively small collection of my own imagery to work with.

I also need to head into the workshops as although I am primarily interested in stitch for my project I did express interest in doing some print. I also need to develop my batik experiments with needle felting as I expressed I wanted to try developing one of the samples with this to create more texture.

One of the techniques which was discussed as possibly being quite effective was lino printing. I have some experience of lino printing from my art foundation. I really enjoyed it and found it to create really effective samples so I will order my own kit to experiment with at home.

My scanned in tinsel intrigued those listening and they proposed I experiment more with it since it could add a texture and sparkle which my currently relatively flat drawings and imagery are missing.

I need to start thinking about my final pieces and possibly look into making them more 3D especially since I’m looking into producing patterns with wreaths maybe have a more prominent image as 3 Dimensional.

The presentation and feedback was really useful for me to visualise where I am going next with my project.



Leave a comment