Print Workshop

Today I made a screen using some of my small drawings I have produced so far. This was really a refresher for myself since I haven’t made a screen in a very long time as I haven’t done much screen printing in past projects. I really enjoyed it but forgot how long it takes. I’m glad I did it though as now I feel a lot more confident about going into the print room and making up my own screens by myself.

IMG_6759

This was the original layout I wanted as I thought it would be good in a repeat however there were some marks on the screen which meant I had to manoeuvre the images around. Also this was only really meant as a practice to get ideas and see what worked well as some of the lines will be too thin and may not work too well.

Since there is quite a lot of waiting around when making a screen I decided to try a bit of batik.

IMG_6761

I have decided I will needle felt into the left sample and make it more like a wreath.

The right two visuals I will work into further in separate ways. I will appliqué the bauble onto another piece of fabric and maybe add some stitch. I plan to scan the bow into photoshop and manipulate it further.



Leave a comment